+the scene
+the scene


11-20-2020 by Tania Ortiz

  ( © JUNG YEON-JE/AFP via Getty Images)  


BTS is back to save 2020. Following the success of their album Map of the Soul: 7 and record-breaking hit “Dynamite”, the Bangtan Boys are back with their highly anticipated 8th album, BE. The latest album by the K-Pop sensations was conceived and produced by the boys during quarantine and meant to reflect the times we are currently living in.


Here’s a track-by-track breakdown of the album!


1. “Life Goes On”


The opening track and lead single of the album has an alternative hip-hop sound combined with a touch of acoustic guitar. The song is about the doubts we’ve all had concerning the future, especially during the pandemic, but finding comfort in the love we have for one another. Accompanying the song is a music video directed by memberJungkook. “Life Goes On” gives us a sense of comfort during these unprecedented times.


Favorite Lyrics: “Let's continue today and tomorrow together again / Stay still, but don't hide in the dark / The light comes up again...”




2. “Fly to My Room”


This R&B-inspired track talks about feeling frustrated about not being able to go outside. The song is relatable because we have created our little worlds in the comfort of our rooms during this pandemic. After being inside for so long, we can appreciate the little things in life.


Favorite Lyrics: “Let's go, let me fly to my room / Keep your gaze down and zoom anywhere / Come on now, let me fly to my room / Get me outta my blue...”




3. “Blue & Grey”


“Blue & Grey” is the most emotional track from the album. The acoustic song is about depression and wanting to feel happier. The intimate song mentions feeling lonely in the world that we live in and looking forward to the next day hoping it will be better. Have your tissues close by because this one is a tear-jerker.


Favorite Lyrics: “Oh, this ground feels so heavier / I am singing by myself / I just wanna be happier...”




4. “Skit”


The fourth song of the album is a playful interlude. The recorded conversation between the members is after their song “Dynamite” reached number one on the Billboard Charts. The skit gives listeners a glimpse at BTS’s silliness and how deep their friendship goes.


Favorite Lyrics: “How cool is it? Billboard No.1 singers practice their debut song on the day of No.1 announcement?”




5. “Telepathy”


This one is one of my personal favorites from the album. “Telepathy” is a feel-good song that will make you want to get up and dance. The song is a love letter from BTS to their beloved ARMY, because even though they are far away and haven’t been able to connect in person, their fans are always on their minds. This song demonstrates the band’s musical versatility and how much they care about their fans.


Favorite Lyrics: “Even if you're not by my side, yeah / Even if I'm not by your side, yeah / You know we're together...”




6. “Dis-ease”


This track brings BTS back to their debut era with hip-hop beats and lyrics. The song’s story is about someone going through an existential crisis and attempting to pick themselves back up again to live another day. #Relatable


Favorite Lyrics: “How much do you have to earn to be happy? / This disease hits your head like glass / I don't know if it's the world that's sick...”




7. “Stay”


“Stay” is an electro-pop inspired track that will get everyone off their feet. The song is about dreaming of someone who you love and miss. Despite all the madness going on in the world, you and that person will always be connected.


Favorite Lyrics: “No matter where we are right now / Wherever you are / I know you always stay...”




8. “Dynamite”


Closing out the album is the disco/pop-inspired track that landed BTS their first number one on the Billboard Hot 100. The song is a perfect amount of joy and confidence that we all need right now.


Favorite Lyrics: “Shinin' through the city with a little funk and soul / So I'ma light it up like dynamite, woah-oh-oh...”




If you’re looking for a feel-good album to get you through these last months of 2020, BE is the album you’ve been looking for. The eighth album by the K-Pop sensations BTS is now available to stream on all platforms!