+the news


Gravity dominates Critics' Choice Movie Awards

Gravity was the toast of the Broadcast Film Critics Association's 19th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards on Thursday (16Jan14).

The science-fiction film nabbed seven awards, including a Best Actress In An Action Movie prize for Sandra Bullock and a Best Director honor for Alfonso Cuaron.

The multiple wins bookended a successful day for the moviemaker and company - Gravity led the pack for Oscar nominations, which were announced on Thursday morning. The film picked up 10 nods including Best Picture, Best Actress (Bullock) and Best Director.

David O. Russell's American Hustle was a four-prize winner at the Critics Choice Awards. The cast was honored with the Best Acting Ensemble and the movie was named Best Comedy, while Amy Adams added another trophy to her haul when she landed the Best Actress in a Comedy trophy.

Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave was also a multiple winner - the slavery drama bagged the Best Picture honor and Lupita Nyong'o choked back tears as she accepted the Best Supporting Actress accolade for her role as Patsey. The film's writer, John Ridley, was also feted with the Best Adapted Screenplay award.

And hard-hitting drama Dallas Buyers Club also scored victories in two of the night's biggest categories - Jared Leto won the Best Supporting Actor award and Matthew McConaughey walked away with the Best Actor honor, while Cate Blanchett took home the Best Actress award for Blue Jasmine and Leonardo DiCaprio won gold in the Best Actor in a Comedy category for The Wolf of Wall Street.

DiCaprio's other 2012/2013 movie The Great Gatsby was also among the multiple film winners, as was Lone Survivor and animated hit Frozen.

One of the night's highlights came when Oprah Winfrey took the stage in Santa Monica, California to present her The Butler co-star Forest Whitaker with the Joel Siegel Award for his humanitarian efforts and work with the Whitaker Peace and Development Initiative, which he founded in 2012.

Praising the actor, Winfrey told the crowd, "In his most recent role in Lee Daniels' The Butler, I had the privilege of seeing first hand how Forest suddenly and so masterfully embodies the soul of a character. He is indeed a great actor, but let me tell you my friends, he is for sure an even greater man.

"He is devoted to his family, he loves life and he cares deeply about our earth and its people. I just marvel at his remarkable humanitarian efforts."

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Picture - 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor - Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress - Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Best Acting Ensemble - Cast of American Hustle

Best Director - Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)

Best Original Screenplay - Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Adapted Screenplay - John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)

Best Supporting Actor - Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress - Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)

Best Young Actor/Actress - Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue is the Warmest Color)

Best Cinematography - Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Best Art Direction - Catherine Martin and Beverley Dunn (The Great Gatsby)

Best Editing - Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger (Gravity)

Best Costume Design - Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)

Best Hair and Makeup - American Hustle

Best Visual Effects - Gravity

Best Animated Feature - Frozen

Best Action Movie - Lone Survivor

Best Actor In An Action Movie - Mark Wahlberg (Lone Survivor)

Best Actress In An Action Movie - Sandra Bullock (Gravity)

Best Comedy - American Hustle

Best Actor In A Comedy - Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actress In A Comedy - Amy Adams (American Hustle)

Best Sci-fi/Horror Movie - Gravity

Best Foreign Language Film - Blue is the Warmest Color

Best Documentary Feature - 20 Feet from Stardom

Best Song - Let It Go by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Frozen)

Best Score - Steven Price (Gravity)

Louis XIII Genius Award - Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy, Richard Linklater

Joel Siegel Award - Forest Whitaker

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!