+the news


Pharrell Williams & Sam Smith frontrunners for BBC Song of the Year prize

Pharrell Williams' Happy and Sam Smith's Money On My Mind have emerged as Song of the Year frontrunners as the shortlist for the inaugural BBC Music Awards prize is announced.

The two tracks join Clean Bandit's Rather Be, Coldplay's A Sky Full of Stars, Sing by Ed Sheeran, Ella Henderson's Ghost, Budapest by George Ezra, Kiesza's Hideaway, Lorde's Royals and Am I Wrong by Nico and Vinz.

Voting opens to the public on Thursday (11Dec14) and the winning song will be announced during the BBC Music Awards ceremony in London later that night.

The British Artist of the Year and International Artist of the Year awards winners will also be announced.

David Bowie, Sheeran, Elbow, Jungle, Royal Blood and Smith are up for the British honor, while Dolly Parton, Gregory Porter, Lorde, Pharrell, Prince and Taylor Swift will compete for the international artist prize.

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!