+the news


Miranda Lambert reigns supreme at Academy of Country Music Awards

Miranda Lambert reigned supreme at the Academy of Country Music Awards on Sunday night (19Apr15), winning four trophies at the milestone 50th annual prizegiving.

The Mama's Broken Heart hitmaker broke her own record when she nabbed the Female Vocalist of the Year for the sixth consecutive year.

Upon receiving the accolade, she admitted, "I don't even realize what's happening tonight, but thank you... I love my job so much, I will never not love my job."

Lambert was also handed trophies for Album of the Year for Platinum and Song of the Year for Automatic.

Florida Georgia Line were also multiple winners, earning prizes for Vocal Event of the Year for their hit This Is How We Roll with Luke Bryan, and Vocal Duo of the Year - a title the duo has claimed for the third year in a row.

Bryan earned his second trophy with the top award of the night for Entertainer of the Year, fending off competition from Lambert, Florida Georgia Line, Jason Aldean and Garth Brooks.

Other honors went to Little Big Town (Vocal Group of the Year), Lee Brice (Single Record of the Year for I Don't Dance) and Jason Aldean, who picked up the Male Vocalist of the Year title for the third consecutive year.

Meanwhile, seven of the genre's biggest stars received special 50th Anniversary Milestone trophies, honoring the prizegiving's biggest winners. The artists include Lambert (Most Awarded Solo Female Artist), Garth Brooks (Most Awarded ACM Entertainer of the Year), Reba McEntire (Most Awarded ACM Female Vocalist of the Year) and Taylor Swift (Youngest ACM Entertainer of the Year).

The ceremony also featured an impressive 23 live performances, including a set from Eric Church and Keith Urban, who kicked off the event with a tribute to country icon Merle Haggard. Other artists such as Darius Rucker, Martina McBride, Lady Antebellum and Brad Paisley also took the stage.

There were also special performances from Christina Aguilera and Rascal Flatts, Dan + Shay and Nick Jonas, and Brooks and Dunn, who made their first television appearance together in a decade.

Co-hosted by pals Bryan and Blake Shelton for the third year in a row, the sold-out ACM Awards were handed out at Dallas, Texas' AT&T Stadium.

The full list of winners is:

Entertainer of the Year: Luke Bryan

Album of the Year: Platinum by Miranda Lambert

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert

Vocal Group of the Year: Little Big Town

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean

Song of the Year: Automatic by Miranda Lambert

Single Record of the Year: I Don’t Dance by Lee Brice

New Artist of the Year: Cole Swindell

Vocal Duo of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

Vocal Event of the Year: This Is How We Roll by Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan

Video of the Year: Drunk on a Plane by Dierks Bentley

50th Anniversary Milestone Awards: Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Miranda Lambert, Reba McEntire, George Strait, Taylor Swift and Brooks & Dunn.

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!