+the news


Mad Max: Fury Road & 45 Years are big winners at London Film Critics’ Circle Awards

Mad Max's return to the big screen has triumphed at the 36th annual London Film Critics’ Circle Awards in the U.K.

Mad Max: Fury Road was named Film of the Year, and George Miller picked up the Director of the Year title at a ceremony in London on Sunday night (17Jan16).

Meanwhile, the film's leading man, Tom Hardy, took home the British/Irish Actor of the Year honor for his body of work in 2015, which also included performances in The Revenant and Legend.

Andrew Haigh's 45 Years was another big winner in London - the movie was named British/Irish Film of the Year, while veteran stars Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay picked up Actress and Actor of the Year prizes.

Other winners included Mark Rylance and Kate Winslet, who claimed the supporting actor and actress awards for their roles in Bridge of Spies and Steve Jobs, respectively; Saoirse Ronan, who was named British/Irish Actress of the Year for her performance in Brooklyn, and Game of Thrones star Maisie Williams, who took home the Young British Performer prize for her role in high-school drama The Falling.

The full list of winners is:

Film of the Year: Mad Max: Fury Road

British/Irish Film of the Year: 45 Years

Foreign Language Film of the Year: The Look of Silence

Documentary of the Year: Amy

Director of the Year: George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Actor of the Year: Tom Courtenay (45 Years)

Actress of the Year: Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)

Supporting Actor of the Year: Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)

Supporting Actress of the Year: Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

British/Irish Actor of the Year: Tom Hardy (Legend, The Revenant, Mad Max: Fury Road, and London Road)

British/Irish Actress of the Year: Saoirse Ronan, (Brooklyn)

Screenwriter of the Year: Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Spotlight)

Philip French Award for Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker: John Maclean (Slow West)

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year: Maisie Williams (The Falling)

Technical Achievement Award: Ed Lachman, cinematography (Carol)

British/Irish Short Film of the Year: Stutterer

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film: Kenneth Branagh

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!