+the news


Get Out dominates African-American Film Critics Association Awards

Horror film Get Out has landed four top honors from officials at the African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA).

The movie was named 2017's Best Picture, while Jordan Peele snagged Best Director and Best Screenplay, and Daniel Kaluuya was crowned Best Actor as the accolades were announced on Tuesday (12Dec17).

Best Actress went to Frances McDormand for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, while Laurence Fishburne and Tiffany Haddish were recognized with respective supporting actor and actress prizes for Last Flag Flying and Girls Trip, which also earned Best Comedy.

Detroit scored Best Ensemble, as well as Best Song for The Roots and Bilal's It Ain't Fair, and Crown Heights claimed the Best Independent title, while its star Lakeith Stanfield was named the winner of the Breakout honor.

There were also awards for Coco (Best Animated) and Mudbound (Best New Media), and Best TV Series accolades for black-ish (Comedy), and Queen Sugar (Drama).

"The films released in 2017 captured a plethora of lifestyles, experiences and emotions that allowed our members to engage with a different range of story lines from previous years," AAFCA President Gil Robertson shares in a statement. "The success of Girls Trip, the first R-rated film starring an all black female cast to surpass $100 million, and Get Out, Jordan Peele's directorial debut which surpassed $250 million worldwide, prove just how viable black films are across the board."

Meanwhile, AAFCA members also voted for their Top 10 Films of 2017, with Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and Coco in second and third place, respectively, behind Get Out.

Girls Trip, Detroit, Call Me by Your Name, The Shape of Water, and Marshall also make the year's highlights, while Queen Sugar was ranked first in the Top 10 TV Programs of 2017, ahead of now-canceled slave drama Underground, and hit comedies Insecure, Master of None, and black-ish.

The AAFCA Awards, chosen by African-American critics across the U.S., will be handed out on 7 February (18) at a ceremony in Hollywood.

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!