+the news


Carrie Underwood and Luke Bryan among CMT artists of the year

Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line and Luke Bryan are among those to be named as Country Music Television (CMT) artists of the year.

Chris Stapleton and Thomas Rhett will also receive the honour at the 2016 CMT Artists of the Year special at Nashville, Tennessee's Schermerhorn Symphony Center on 20 October (16).

At the event 23-year-old pop-country sensation Kelsea Ballerini is set to become the second recipient of the Breakout Artist of the Year honour.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on the CMT network.

Rhett and Stapleton, who won last year's Breakout Artist prize, are both first time recipients of the award.

It is Underwood's third time as an Artist of the Year winner and Florida Georgia Line's fourth.

Bryan's win means he is now tied for the record number of wins with Jason Aldean on five, having been honoured every year since 2012.

Additional awards, performers and special guests are set to be announced.

Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!